Doing this helped me boost my career in Tech

A microblog of opportunities I have utilized to get started in Tech

Doing this helped me boost my career in Tech

It wasn’t until a year after I joined college I was blown by the fact everything I needed was in my pocket this whole time! 📱

Chapter 1: Hackathons 👩‍💻👨‍💻

Hackathons are one of the best ways to Learn any tech in a short span of time. This may not mean you’ll get mastery over the stack, but a good understanding of it.

So next time you want to learn a tech stack you fear, try using it in a hackathon instead. You’ll get comfy with it by the end of the event.

Some resources:

Chapter 2: Communities 👨‍👦‍👦

If you’ve participated in a hackathon, chances are you’ll find loads of communities to join, you can join any (or many). Joining a community that has a similar mindset/goals as you will boost your growth by many folds. Don’t believe me? Just 2 months after I joined a few developer communities online, I had participated in 10 hackathons, made 5+ great projects, and won 2 hackathons (and my first international win!). This would normally take me a year if it weren’t for the helpful community ( that’s right! everyone is ready to help you in the community)

Some great communities I am in

Chapter 3: Power of Social Media 📲🌍

I never thought social media could make me more productive than eating up my screen time. Committing your tasks in public (also known as Learning in Public ) is a great way to maintain consistency in work towards you goal (you can’t cheat when everyone’s watching you 👀 )

Potential Platforms

  • Twitter
  • Linkedin
  • Discord
  • Hashnode
  • Polywork

The best part about all of this is that they are free and you can get them from the same device you’re reading this from

What are you waiting for? another push notification for opportunity? You don’t need it anymore, you’ve got the tips now ;)

If you liked this blog and it helped you, share it and tag me :)

Missed something which could be added to this blog? Drop it in the comments below 👇

This mini-blog is an update on my previous blog on Medium